Tag-Archive for » Unaccountable government «

AB43 – Joecks: Stability is guise for ever-increasing property taxes

Thursday’s legislative hearing on property tax increases showed exactly why you can’t trust politicians.

Local governments are desperate to raise your property taxes, and to do that, the Nevada Association of Counties has proposed AB43. It would create a path to set the floor on property tax increases at 3 percent a year. This year, the cap limited property tax increases in Clark County to double the rate of inflation. Because inflation was 0.1 percent, the cap limited your property tax increases to 0.2 percent.

Instead of telling the public that AB43 will increase your property taxes by eventually raising the floor to 3 percent, “stability” was the word of the hearing.

“This is about stability,” said Jeff Fontaine, executive director of Nevada Association of Counties. “This is about fixing a broken system. This is not again about creating a windfall by getting new revenues for counties or other local government.”

 “This is not raising, but keeping stable,” said Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson, D-Las Vegas.

“We’re actually just providing stability so we can plan around our needs, our goals. We may not get growth, but we will get stability,” said Assembly Tax Chairwoman Dina Neal, D-North Las Vegas.

 Merriam-Webster’s defines stable as “firmly established” and “not changing or fluctuating.” For a homeowner, a “stable” property tax bill would mean paying $1,000 last year and $1,000 this year. If politicians really wanted “stability” they’d propose setting the floor and ceiling at zero percent.

Boom. Complete stability. Read more

Checks and Balances under attack in Carson City

Hearings regarding this measure are happening today, but ongoing opposition to it via email, snail mail, phone call or whatever it takes, will be necessary.  We the people are being railroaded again by the legislature.  Making the Treasurer and Controller appointed rather than elected positions gives too much power to the majority party and the governor.  This must be vigorously opposed!  Maintain our system of checks and balances!

Oppose AJR6: Abolishes offices of State Controller & Treasurer
Takes Away your Right to Vote for them

HEARING: Tues. 1:30 Rm 3142  Asm Legislative Operations and Elections
Las Vegas, Rm. 4404B of the Grant Sawyer State Office Building, 555 E. Washington 
Watch online: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Calendar/A/
Vote will take place at a later meeting so contact the Committee

MESSAGE: Vote NO on AJR6. Don’t take away our right to vote for State Controller and State Treasurer putting them under the Governor. These independent offices provide for a check on State Government and the Governor. These offices are in the Nevada Constitution and have served us for over 153 years. (or write your own message)

See agenda and bill here.

CONTACT:
Olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.usNelson.Araujo@asm.state.nv.us, Elliot.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us,
Shannon.Bilbry-Axelrod@asm.state.nv.us, Skip.Daly@asm.state.nv.us,
Daniele.Monroe-Moreno@asm.state.nv.us, James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us, John.Hambrick@asm.state.nv.us,  Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us, Richard.McArthur@asm.state.nv.us, James.Oscarson@asm.state.nv.us,

Share your opinion with Legislature: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Opinions/79th2017/A/